Information for NEWLY ADMITTED Fall 2020 International Students ONLY

Updated August 10, 2020

Congratulations on your admission to UNT!

We understand the many uncertainties new international students may be facing given the current situation with COVID-19. At UNT, we are committed to your education and making sure you stay on track with your program. We would like to take this opportunity to share with you UNT's enrollment options for NEW international students for Fall 2020. We look forward to welcoming you to the Mean Green family!

Option 1:

On-Campus Start

Who: International students who are able to secure a visa and travel to the U.S. for the UNT Fall 2020 start date of August 24. We look forward to welcoming you to campus!

On-Campus Enrollment Requirements: Upon arrival to campus, undergraduate students must enroll in 12 credits (4 courses) minimum. Graduate students must enroll in 9 credits (3 courses) minimum. 

To Do: Please complete the WINGS (Welcome! International New Student Guide to Success) orientation if you have not done so. You can access the WINGS orientation here using your UNT credentials. You will enroll in classes once you have arrived on campus and submitted your immigration documents to iNorthTX.

Option 2:

Remote Start

Who: International students who are unable to travel to the U.S. for the Fall 2020 start date are encouraged to begin their course of study on-line as part of our Remote Start Program.

Remote Start Enrollment: Students taking online courses in their home country are not required to take a specific number of courses. However, we advise enrolling full-time (12 credits/4 courses undergraduate students, 9 credits/3 courses graduate students) so that students may stay on track with their program.

To Do: Complete the Remote Start e-Form to begin the enrollment process. Please complete the WINGS (Welcome! International New Student Guide to Success) orientation if you have not done so. You can access the WINGS orientation here using your UNT credentials. Deadline EXTENDED to enroll in Remote Start: August 15, 2020.  We recommend making a decision as soon as possible, before courses begin to fill up.

The Fall Remote Option rate is only available for Fall 2020

Option 3:

Admissions Deferral

Who: International students who wish to begin their studies at UNT in the Spring semester, 2021 or the Fall semester, 2021. *Students may not arrive more than 30 days before the Spring semester starts.

Admissions Deferral Requirements: Undergraduate students may defer up to one academic year without submitting a new application. Graduate students may defer until Spring 2021 without submitting a new application. Deadline to defer to Spring 2021: August 1, 2020.

To Do: Please complete the appropriate form: Undergraduate deferral form | Graduate deferral form

 

Benefits of Option 2: Remote Start

  • Save 20-40% with special Fall 2020 Remote Start tuition rates!
  • Begin your studies in Fall 2020 and stay on track with your education!
  • Take specially designed on-line courses that include interaction with faculty through email, Zoom, and other social media channels!
  • Allow for more time to apply for and receive a visa to come to the United States!

 

Remote Start Pricing

(Estimated - Pricing subject to change)

Ph.D. students, please contact your advisor for Remote Start pricing (contact information listed at the bottom of the page)

Cost Comparison Examples

Approximate On Campus Cost Per Graduate Course for International Students

Remote Start cost for one course online

Difference

$2835

Engineering

$1,796.23

37%

 

Data / Information Science

$1,736.23

39%

 

Advanced Data Analytics

$1,538.23

46%

 

Natural Sciences

$1,686.73

41%

 

Music

$1,746.73

38%

 

Business Analytics

$2,261.73

22%

 

International Student Frequently Asked Questions  

Information is subject to change

Answers ONLY apply to NEW students located OUTSIDE the United States.

 

Answers ONLY apply to NEW students located OUTSIDE the United States.

International Student Immigration FAQ

What Next?

Please complete the e-Form if you have not already done so. The academic advisor in your college will contact you once the e-Form is received to begin the enrollment process. Be sure to check your UNT email regularly.

G. Brint Ryan College of Business: 

Undergraduate Students: COBAdvising@unt.edu 

Master's Students: Natalie.Bernard@unt.edu 

Ph.D. Students: Inez.Loche@unt.edu and Audhesh.Paswan@unt.edu

College of Education

Undergraduate Students: Barbara.Howe@unt.edu

Edu Psychology Graduate Students: Devin.Dougherty@unt.edu

Kinesiology and Recreation, Event & Sport Management Graduate Students: Barbara.Howe@unt.edu

Special Education Graduate Students: Marilyn.Deuble@unt.edu

Counseling Ph.D. Students: Shari.Wroe@unt.edu

Education Leadership Ph.D. Students: Marilyn.Deuble@unt.edu

College of Engineering: 

Undergraduate Students: Nancy.VanHoy@unt.edu 

Graduate Students: Marla.Smith@unt.edu and Robert.Akl@unt.edu

College of Health and Public Service:

Public Health Program Undergraduate Students: Ami.Moore@unt.edu

Rehabilitation Studies Program Undergraduate Students: Brandi.Darensbourg@unt.edu

Public Administration Graduate Students: Heesoun.Jang@unt.edu

Rehabilitation Counseling Graduate Students: Brandi.Darensbourg@unt.edu

Public Administration and Management Ph.D. Students:  Heesoun.Jang@unt.edu

College of Information:

CI-Advising@unt.edu

College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences:

Undergraduate Students: Susan.Mccutcheon@unt.edu

Applied Anthropology Graduate Students: Mariela.Nunez-Janes@unt.edu

Philosophy Graduate and Ph.D. Students: Adam.Briggle@unt.edu

Political Science Graduate and Ph.D. Students: John.Ishiyama@unt.edu

Women’s & Gender Studies Graduate Students: Alicia.ReCruz@unt.edu

Clinical Psychology Ph.D. Students: Rachel.Kamman@unt.edu

English Ph.D. Students: Marshall.Armintor@unt.edu

College of Merchandising, Hospitality and Tourism:

Undergraduate Students: Kelly.Spry@unt.edu

Hospitality Management Graduate Students: Lisa.Kennon@unt.edu

Merchandising Graduate Students: Sanjukta.Pookulangara@unt.edu

College of Music:

Joel.Wiley@unt.edu

College of Science:

Undergraduate Students: COSAdvising@unt.edu

Graduate Students: Heather.Miller@unt.edu

Other Colleges | Study@unt.edu

Advanced Data Analytics Program | Michael.Monticino@unt.edu